Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Washington State University

Faculty

Name Title / Interests Contact information
Henry AdamsHenry Adams Associate Professor
Global change & physiological ecology of trees and plants; dryland ecohydroogy; forest responses to drought, fire & global change
Troy 326
WSU Pullman
509-335-3040
henry.adams@wsu.edu
Michael Berger Associate Professor (Career- Track)
Ecology, physiology, and larval biology of marine invertebrates; teaching innovations & pedagogy
VLIB 210U 14204 NE SALMON CREEK AVENUE
WSU Vancouver
360-546-9347
msberger@vancouver.wsu.edu
MarkBillingsMark Billings Lecturer Fulmer 204D
WSU Pullman
mark.billings@wsu.edu
Stephen Bollens Professor
Director – Multi-Campus Planning and Strategic Initiative
Aquatic ecology of phytoplankton, zooplankton, and fish in marine, estuarine, & freshwater ecosystems
ELS 230Q
WSU Vancouver
360-546-9116
sbollens@wsu.edu
Catherine Cooper Associate Professor
Geophysics and Geodynamics; Lithospheric creation and deformation; Plate tectonics/mantle convection
WEBSTER 1148
WSU Pullman
509-335-1501
cmcooper@wsu.edu
Allan Felsot Professor
Entomology & integrated pest management; environmental chemistry & toxicology; risk assessment of environmental contaminants; agricultural biotechnology
WSU Tri Cities
509-372-7365
afelsot@wsu.edu
Alex Fremier Professor
Fluvial geomorphology; energy flow in food webs; resilience in water resource systems; microplastics in fish; riverine ecology
PACCAR ETB 356
WSU Pullman
509-335-8689
alex.fremier@wsu.edu
Caren Goldberg Associate Professor
eDNA; detection of rare species using environmental DNA; climate change, connectivity & landscape ecology of amphibian populations; conservation genetics & wildlife ecology
HEALD 417
WSU Pullman
509-335-3673
caren.goldberg@wsu.edu
Johannes Haemmerli.Johannes Haemmerli Assistant Professor
Director – Peter Hooper GeoAnalytical Lab
Geochemistry: fluids in the crust; element mobility; metamorphic and magmatic processes; microanalysis of minerals.
Webster 1023
WSU Pullman
(509) 335-2470
johannes.haemmerli@wsu.edu
John Harrison Professor
Global change & watershed biogeochemistry; global nutrient transport and effects; greenhouse gas emissions from reservoirs & lakes
VANCOUVER SCI. & ENG. 230B
WSU Vancouver
360-546-9210
john_harrison@wsu.edu
Stephen Henderson Associate Professor
Environmental hydrodynamics & physics of natural water flows, mixing, & sediment transport in lakes, estuaries & the coastal ocean
ENG LIFE SCIENCES BUILDING 230L
WSU Vancouver
360-546-9268
steve_henderson@wsu.edu
Anand (Ani) Jayakaran Professor & Extension Specialist
Green Stormwater Infrastructure & Ecological Engineering
Kalkus 313
Puyallup Research & Extension Center
(253) 445-4523
anand.jayakaran@wsu.edu
Scott Jess Assistant Professor
landscape evolution, sediment transport in glacial systems, geochronology, thermochronology
Webster 1048
WSU Pullman
Scott.jess@wsu.edu
C Kent Keller Professor
Nutrient cycling & nutrient budgets in agroecosystems; environmental isotopes in biogeochemical studies; groundwater & critical-zone biogeochemistry
Webster 1154
WSU Pullman
509-335-6635
ckkeller@wsu.edu
Allyson Beall King Director, School of the Environment
Scholarly Associate Professor
System dynamics modeling; collaborative modeling: finding sustainable, consensus-based solutions to environmental problems
Webster 1227
WSU Pullman
509-335-4037
abeall@wsu.edu
Marc Kramer Associate Professor
Climate interactions in the biosphere & pedosphere; carbon stabilization in soil & biogeochemical effects of winds on the earth’s surface
VAN SCI 230C
WSU Vancouver
360-546-9452
marc.kramer@wsu.edu
Sean Long Associate Professor
Structural evolution of contractional & extensional mountain belts; field geology, geochronology, stratigraphy, thermochronology, & structural geology
WEBSTER 1155
WSU Pullman
509-335-8868
sean.p.long@wsu.edu
Jeff Manning Assistant Professor
Quantitative wildlife ecology; wildlife habitat relationships / resource selection; behavioral & population ecology; threatened & endangered species conservation
Heald Hall 404
WSU Pullman
509- 335-2796
jeff.manning@wsu.edu
Jenifer McIntyre Associate Professor
Toxic impacts of urban runoff & complex chemical mixtures on aquatic organisms; green infrastructure & aquatic toxicity in animals
Aquatic Toxicology Lab
Puyallup Research & Extension Center,
253-445-4650
jen.mcintyre@wsu.edu
Arjan Meddens Assistant Professor
Global environmental change in terrestrial ecosystems; remote sensing of ecosystem dynamics; forest insects & wildfire impacts
WSU Pullman
(509) 335-8570
arjan.meddens@wsu.edu
Julie M. Menard Assistant Professor
Planetary science & geoscience education
Webster 446A
WSU Pullman
509-335-1228
julie.menard@wsu.edu
Kevan MoffattKevan Moffett Associate Professor
Urban ecohydrology; intertidal ecohydrology & ecogeomorphology; post-wildfire ecohydrology
VSCI ROOM 230P
WSU Vancouver
360-546-9413
kevan.moffett@wsu.edu
Marcia Ostrom Professor
Agroecology & sustainable food systems; agricultural & food policy; environmental sociology
WSU Food Systems Program
509-293-8799
Julie PadowskiJulie Padowski Research Associate Professor

Co-Director, Center for Environmental Research, Education, and Outreach (CEREO); water resources management & drinking water system resiliency; Washington water policy

Paccar 256
WSU Pullman
509-335-8539
julie.padowski@wsu.edu
Michael PelchMichael Pelch Teaching Associate Professor
Geoscience education & economic geology; STEM & geoscience student learning
Webster 1152
WSU Pullman
michael.pelch@wsu.edu
Jennifer Phillips Assistant Professor
animal behavior, communication, human activity on wildlife
Heald 509
WSU Pullman
jennifer.n.phillips@wsu.edu
Malinda Ritts Lecturer
Earth systems science, paleoclimate, stable isotope biogeochemistry, sedimentology
Webster 1029
WSU Pullman
malinda.ritts@wsu.edu
Charles Robbins Professor
Nutritional requirements of bears; hibernation physiology; interactions between bears and people
EASTLICK 373
WSU Pullman
509-335-1119
ctrobbins@wsu.edu
Sarah Roley Associate Professor
Aquatic ecology & water quality in agricultural watersheds; nitrogen & phosphorus cycling
East 134
WSU Tri Cities
509-372-7449
sarah.roley@wsu.edu
Gretchen Rollwagen-Bollens Associate Professor
Aquatic ecology & biological oceanography; community ecology of plankton; interdisciplinary studies in aquatic & political science & science education
VELS 230A
WSU Vancouver
360-546-9115
rollboll@wsu.edu
Rodney Sayler Associate Professor
Project Director – WSU Arboretum, Magpie Forest, Kramer Prairie
Conservation biology; endangered species; wildlife, wetland, and Palouse Prairie ecology
HEALD 413A
WSU Pullman
509-335-6167
rdsayler@wsu.edu
Lisa Shipley Professor
Associate Director of Graduate Studies
Foraging behavior; vertebrate nutrition and diet selection; herbivory; wildlife habitat ecology and management
HEALD 425
WSU Pullman
509-335-9182
shipley@wsu.edu
Deepti Singh Assistant Professor
Climate change and extreme events (e.g., storms, drought, fire); climate impacts on agriculture, air quality, water & natural resources; climate impacts on vulnerable communities
VSCI 130
WSU Vancouver
360-546-9510
deepti.singh@wsu.edu
Amanda Stahl Lecturer
Conservation science & policy, remote sensing of ecosystem dynamics, spatial analysis to inform connectivity conservation, climate adaptation
WSU Pullman
atstahl@wsu.edu
John Stark Professor of Ecotoxicology
Director, Washington Stormwater Center
Puyallup Research & Extension Center
(253) 445-4568
starkj@wsu.edu
Michelle M. Steen-AdamsMichelle M. Steen-Adams Research Associate & Lecturer
Forest & environmental history; environmental governance; tribal forest management; landscape ecology; coupled human & natural systems
VSCI 130D
WSU Vancouver
m.steen-adams@wsu.edu
Katherine Strickler Adjunct Faculty and Lecturer
Aquatic ecology & eDNA detection of aquatic species; microplastics in freshwater systems & biota; science communication
PACCAR ETB 358
WSU Pullman
509-335-6435
k.strickler@wsu.edu
Mark Swanson Associate Professor
Forest development; forest disturbance; silviculture; forest restoration; field botany; prescribed fire
TROY 320
WSU Pullman
509-335-1349
markswanson@wsu.edu
Daniel Thornton Associate Professor
Carnivore ecology & conservation; landscape & spatial ecology of wildlife; impacts of land use, connectivity & climate change on distribution dynamics
HEALD 513
WSU Pullman
509-335-3713
daniel.thornton@wsu.edu
Jeffrey Vervoort.Jeff Vervoort Professor
Radiogenic Isotope Geochemistry and Geochronology
WEBSTER 1048
WSU Pullman
509-335-5997
Vervoort@wsu.edu
Barry WalkerBarry Walker Lecturer
Introductory Geology, Oceanography, Earth History and Evolution, Global Campus
WSU Vancouver
barry.walker@wsu.edu
Kara Whitman Associate Director for Undergraduate Programs SoE
Scholarly Associate Professor
Education strategies to improve scientific literacy in environmental & natural resources; collaborative public environmental policy
FULMER 206B&C
WSU Pullman
509-335-7846
kmwhitman@wsu.edu
Dr. Steven WoodleySteven Woodley Lecturer
Community ecology; plant-insect
interactions; invasion ecology;
restoration ecology; and
wildlife ecology
WSU Pullman
steven.woodley@wsu.edu